Uncategorized

Mathieu Leclerc

It is hard to determine a specific element that ignited my passion for aviation. I remember my years in elementary school where I was fascinated by pictures of WW2 planes I found in books at the library. Later on, my dad brought me to some air shows that left a lasting impression on me. What I think really convinced me that I wanted to fly as a career was my parent’s 17th birthday present. The gift was a one hour initiation flight at a local flight school called « Pilote d’un jour ». It was the first time I could really feel what flying was like and I fell in love with it.

After high school, I applied at the « Centre Québécois de Formation en Aéronautique», a 3 years governmental program which mixes flight instructions with pre-university courses. I passed through the 3 selection stages and was really riveted when I received my acceptance letter to the program. It was in 2008 and I was 17. I had to move to Chicoutimi, 5 hours away from my hometown, Montreal, to pursue my dream. There, I learned how to fly on the yellow and red Beechcraft Sundowners of the CQFA. I got my private license at the end of my second year of schooling, in 2009. The following years at the CQFA, I did my mutli-engine and IFR licenses on the Piper Navajo. I finished just before the beginning of summer 2011, I was 20.

Just after finishing school, I was hired by Exactair for the fire patrols in their most northern base, Manic 5. It was really interesting to fly in northern Quebec in my Cessna 182 and to experience gravel runways in mountainous and remote areas. After the summer, I tried to find a job as a co-pilot somewhere but because I didn’t have enough flight hours, I was unable to find a job. I decided it was a good time for me to travel, another passion of mine, so I went for three and a half month backpacking around Asia.

So now here I am, back in Montreal preparing for this amazing trip in the Caribbean’s! I would like to thank Camil and Catherine from Aviation Connection for the opportunity they give me to participate to the International Air Rally. I also want to give a special thanks to Bombardier’s initiative as it has allowed me to take part in this life changing project. This is a great occasion for me to jumpstart my career as a professional pilot.

About Int'l Air Rally

World leader of aviation group flying events since 2003

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Mathieu Leclerc « Aviation Connection - April 18, 2012

  2. Pingback: Destionations: Martinique to Santo Domingo « Aviation Connection - May 17, 2012

Leave a comment